Posted by: marinmom | September 19, 2007

Latte to go

It was the headline that got me, “Life Changes,With a Latte to Go.”  It was a review in the New York Times, about a book I recently read, How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else.  The review captured the essence of the book, the article’s headline captured my life. I am going through a bit of change lately and a latte in the wee hours helps.

Coffee makes me happy.  A latte with a little chocolate sprinkled on top eases me into the day and makes a bad day a little better. Maybe, like the author of the book I drank too much of the “coffee Koolaid,” but I don’t think so. I have laughed, cried, started friendships, ended relationships and taken a new job all over coffee.  

Plus as a busy mom, someone else is serving and cleaning up the mess.  My daily coffee run is a lovely little moment of vacation. The financial analysts say I should invest those dollars for retirement.  Nope.  I bet they go buy a good cup of joe on a regular basis, too. 

I know when I got hooked.  Years ago, my babysitter gave me tastes of her MJB laced with cream and sugar.  It was perfect alongside a bowl of Frosted Flakes. I loved it, I think it was half sugar, the coffee that is. 

During college, I worked at a coffee shop serving Starbuck’s mixed with Boyd’s to architect students.  In my college girl view, it was gourmet. That coffee shop is still my favorite job.  I knew my customers, I knew what they liked.  Room for cream anyone? Sugar first?  You got it.  Unlike college exams, I knew the answer could be found in a full cup perfectly served.  

It took Italy to make me fall in love with espresso. I didn’t have the italian words for coffee with a little cream.  I finally stopped trying and ordered cappucinos (loved the story about how it looked like the habits of the Capucine monks) at a little coffee place in Montepulciano,  I succumbed to the pace of the town, lingered for hours reading the International Herald Tribune, soaking up Italian sun, feeling that, hey, I’m on vacation feeling, not planning anything or making any decisions.  The coffee was the only way I measured the day.  I left before my fourth cup, but long after the third was empty.

My favorite place for coffee now is Caffe Trieste because of Zazou, the manager and barista.  I think Starbuck’s corporate should go hang out with him for a while.   He knows my order but also warms my day with light banter as he mixes my drink.  Like the old TV show, Cheers, he knows my name.  Better yet, he knows my order, “Single latte, to go.”

Responses

  1. […] was about to be a response to my friend at A Traveling Mom, who blogged about coffee – then I realized I could feed my own […]

  2. Loved it, especially the cool shirt you got to wear. I always new you had fashion sense.


Leave a Reply

Categories

