Posted by: marinmom | November 2, 2007

Hiking on Ring Mountain

I really did not want to go running this morning. I was tired, I had got home from my job last night at 9:30, made school lunches, watched a really boring car show with my husband and crawled to bed. This morning, I actually went back to bed and fell asleep for an additional 15 minutes. I was late. I was supposed to be up at 6 to prepare for the day. Jumped out of bed, slammed out breakfast and tossed on my running gear because it was there, dropped the kids at the bus and started dragging my sorry ass down that sidewalk with sprightly dog, Ping. She bounced. I trudged. I went up the hill looking for some song on my ipod that would inspire me. Nothing, not even Madonna was going to get through my foggy brain. Kept trudging, complaining to myself about the fog, the cold, everything I had to do today. I did not want to be with me. I was not good company. Suddenly, I looked up, literally the light dawned on me. I had climbed out of the fog. Mt. Tam was rose out of the fog like a beautiful woman rising from a steamy lake, the road beckoned ahead. This moment of rare beauty transformed me from a dreary rat running on the treadmill to a woman running with boundless energy.

I will run again tomorrow.  Each day brings a moment of bliss when I run.  I need those moments, they are my fuel for the day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

